02/11/2019 - 17/11/2019

@wbsc   #Premier12  

Hosted by:   JPN MEX TPE KOR

II Premier12 2019 - Official Payoff

Premier12 Replay Series | Watch Korea, Mexico battle with a spot in the final, Olympic berth at stake

Premier12 Replay Series | Watch Korea, Mexico battle with a spot in the final, Olympic berth at stake
15/11/2020
Korea, the 2008 Olympic champions, were trying to clinch a spot in Tokyo 2020 to defend their gold medal, while Mexico were in the hunt of their first Olympic baseball berth.

After coming off losses in their previous Super Round games, No. 3 ranked Korea and No. 6 ranked Mexico went head-to-head at the Tokyo Dome on 15 November 2019. The winner of the game would not only secure a spot in the Premier12 2019 Final, but also a ticket to the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

The Premier12 2019, the top major international baseball event of the year, awarded two spots to the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games, one to the top-finisher team from the Americas, and the other one to the top-ranked team from Asian/Oceania (not including automatically-qualified Japan).

Mexico sent Manuel Barreda to the mound for the pivotal game, in his third appearance of the tournament. Barreda appeared once in the Opening Round against Netherlands, and once in the Super Round against Australia.

For Korea, Jonghun Park made his second start in the Premier12 after a no-decision against Cuba in the Opening Round. Park scattered four hits in four scoreless innings, striking out two in Korea’s 7-0 win.

This historic full game between Korea and Mexico will be re-streamed and free to watch on Sunday, 15 November, at 9 am Eastern US Standard Time (11 pm Japan Standard Time, 3 pm Central European Time) at www.youtube.com/wbsc; and 9 pm Eastern US Standard Time (16 November at 11 am Japan Standard Time, 3 am Central European Time) at www.facebook.com/wbsc.

The WBSC's GameTime.Sport OTT platform will also publish additional content such as behind-the-scenes material and other fan-focused content.

The next game of the Premier12 Replay Series will be Monday, 16 November, featuring the battle between Asian arch-rivals Korea and Japan to close the Super Round of the Global Battle.







Official sponsors

 
Hublot
SSK
 
 
Taisho
wbsc.org