02/11/2019 - 17/11/2019

@wbsc   #Premier12  

Hosted by:   JPN MEX TPE KOR

II Premier12 2019 - Official Payoff

Premier12 Replay Series | Watch Japan, Korea close Super Round in front of 44,224 fans

Premier12 Replay Series | Watch Japan, Korea close Super Round in front of 44,224 fans
16/11/2020
The two Asian arch-rivals closed the Premier12 2019 Super Round in a preview of the final of the global competition.

Worlds No. 1 Japan and No. 3 Korea had secured their places in the Premier12 2019 Final when they faced off on 16 November before a sold-out Tokyo Dome, on the final day of the Super Round. Korea’s 7-3 win over Mexico the night before had guaranteed not only their place in the 2019 Premier12 Championship game, but also secured Japan’s presence in the final.

Japan and Korea were scheduled to play back-to-back games on consecutive nights, to close the Super Round on the Saturday night and to name the 2019 Premier12 champion the following day. The preview of the final turned into a slugfest for both teams.

Korea sent Seungho Lee to the mound for the second time in the tournament. Lee saw one inning of work in Group C against Cuba, striking out two and allowing one hit.

Takayuki Kishi made his third appearance at the 2019 Premier12, following two relief appearances against Chinese Taipei and Australia. The right-hander had struck out one and only allowed one hit in three innings of work in his previous work.

The game between the two Asian super-powers will be available for free on Monday, 16 November, at 9 am Eastern US Standard Time (11 pm Japan Standard Time, 3 pm Central European Time) at www.youtube.com/wbsc; and 9 pm Eastern US Standard Time (17 November at 11 am Japan Standard Time, 3 am Central European Time) at www.facebook.com/wbsc.

The WBSC's GameTime.Sport OTT platform will also publish additional content such as behind-the-scenes material and other fan-focused content.

The Premier12 Replay Series will close tomorrow, Tuesday 17 November, with a doubleheader featuring the Bronze Medal Game between Mexico and USA - which also defined the second qualified nation for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games - and the Premier12 2019 Final between Japan and Korea.







Official sponsors

 
Hublot
SSK
 
 
Taisho
wbsc.org