02/11/2019 - 17/11/2019

@wbsc   #Premier12  

Hosted by:   JPN MEX TPE KOR

II Premier12 2019 - Official Payoff

Premier12 Replay Series | Watch Canada v Cuba Group C opener in Seoul

Premier12 Replay Series | Watch Canada v Cuba Group C opener in Seoul
06/11/2020
The two teams from the Americas faced off in the first game of Group C in Korea. The host team and Australia completed the four-team pool.

One year ago, 6 November 2019, Gocheok Sky Dome in Seoul, Korea, was the stage for the Premier12 2019 Group C opener between Canada and Cuba. The Canadian squad qualified for the Premier12 as the 10th-ranked team in the world, while the Caribbean powerhouse was the fifth-ranked nation in the WBSC World Rankings.

Canada's manager Ernie Whitt picked Philippe Aumont, a 30-year old right-hander who played for the Ottawa Champions in the independent Canadian-American Association. Aumont played part of four seasons (2012-2015) for the MLB Philadelphia Phillies. 

Cuba's Miguel Borroto gave the ball to Carlos Viera, a veteran right-hander in the Cuban Serie National League, who also pitched in the Venezuelan Winter League.

"Canada relies on pitching and defense," said Whitt. "We are proud of the team that will represent our great country."

"Cuba is strong on fundamentals," reflected Borroto. “We have a balanced team and we are confident our baseball is going to be fast."

The game between Canada and Cuba will be available for free on Friday, 6 November, at 9 am Eastern US Standard Time (11 pm Japan Standard Time, 3 pm Central European Time) at www.youtube.com/wbsc; and 9 pm Eastern US Standard Time (7 November at 11 am Japan Standard Time, 3 am Central European Time) at www.facebook.com/wbsc.

The WBSC's GameTime.Sport OTT platform will also publish additional content such as behind-the-scenes material and other fan-focused content.

The next game of the Premier12 Replay Series will be on Saturday 7 November, with Cuba and Australia in a crucial matchup in Group C.







Official sponsors

 
Hublot
SSK
 
 
Taisho
wbsc.org