02/11/2019 - 17/11/2019

@wbsc   #Premier12  

Hosted by:   JPN MEX TPE KOR

II Premier12 2019 - Official Payoff

Premier12 Replay Series | Watch Australia, USA go toe to toe in Tokyo

Premier12 Replay Series | Watch Australia, USA go toe to toe in Tokyo
13/11/2020
Australia entered the game never having defeated USA at World Cup or Olympic Games level. Their last meeting came in the second round of the 2011 World Cup, with the US claiming a 2-1 win.

On Day 3 of the Premier12 2019 Super Round, the iconic Tokyo Dome was the stage for a historic contest between Australia and USA. The Oceania giant was looking for their first Super Round win, while USA wanted to build over their stunning win over Japan the night before.

USA used a strong team pitching performance and a late homer from Jo Adell to put an exclamation point on their first Super Round victory against Japan. Australia were defeated for the second time in as many Super Round games, this time at the hands of Mexico.

In Olympic/World Cup competition, the US National Team won all nine games against Australia. Their last meeting came in the second round of the 2011 IBAF Baseball World Cup, with the US claiming a 2-1 win.

Tanner Houck took to the mound to start the game against Australia, after giving up two earned runs in his first outing of the Premier12 against Mexico.

Tim Atherton was making his third start of the 2019 Premier12, after appearing against Korea and Canada in the Opening Round, where he struggled to find his rhythm, allowing three earned runs in 3.2 innings of work.

The game between Australia and USA will be available for free on Friday, 13 November, at 9 am Eastern US Standard Time (11 pm Japan Standard Time, 3 pm Central European Time) at www.youtube.com/wbsc; and 9 pm Eastern US Standard Time (14 November at 11 am Japan Standard Time, 3 am Central European Time) at www.facebook.com/wbsc.

The WBSC's GameTime.Sport OTT platform will also publish additional content such as behind-the-scenes material and other fan-focused content.

After a day off, the Premier12 Replay Series will continue on Sunday, 15 November, with Mexico and Korea facing off at the Tokyo Dome.







Official sponsors

 
Hublot
SSK
 
 
Taisho
wbsc.org