02/11/2019 - 17/11/2019

@wbsc   #Premier12  

Hosted by:   JPN MEX TPE KOR

II Premier12 2019 - Official Payoff

Premier12 Replay Series | Watch Americas rivals Mexico, USA in pivotal contest one year ago

Premier12 Replay Series | Watch Americas rivals Mexico, USA in pivotal contest one year ago
03/11/2020
The two teams, coming from strong wins on Day 1 of the Global Battle, collided on 3 November 2019 at Estadio Charros de Jalisco in Guadalajara.

Exactly a year ago, Mexico and the US met during Game 4 of the II Premier12 2019 at Estadio Charros de Jalisco. Both national squads won on opening day and faced off in a key game towards advancing out of Group A to the Japan Super Round.

On Day 1, USA made a statement with a 9-0 win over the Netherlands in the tournament’s opener, blasting four home runs. And host Mexico defeated the Dominican Republic, 6-1, in a shortened game due to heavy rain in Guadalajara. Esteban Quiroz’s grand slam in the third frame put the exclamation point on the game.

Kicking off Day 2, the Dominican Republic eliminated the Netherlands with a 14-4 win, highlighted by a diving catch by Domincan center fielder Gilberto Celestino. This result put Mexico in position to clinch a spot in the Super Round with a win against USA.

Former first-round MLB draft pick Tanner Houck climbed the hill for the US. Houck, who was called up to the Boston Red Sox big-league team last season, was matched up with 39-year-old veteran Horacio Ramirez, who starred for Tijuana in the 2019 Mexican Baseball League (LMB).

The game between Mexico and USA will be available for free on Tuesday, 3 November, at 9 am Eastern US Standard Time (11 pm Japan Standard Time, 3 pm Central European Time) at www.youtube.com/wbsc; and 9 pm Eastern US Standard Time (4 November at 11 am Japan Standard Time, 3 am Central European Time) at www.facebook.com/wbsc.

The WBSC's GameTime.Sport OTT platform will also publish additional content such as behind-the-scenes material and other fan-focused content.

The next episode of the Premier12 Replay Series will be on Wednesday, with Game 5 of the Premier12 2019 between the Dominican Republic and USA.







Official sponsors

 
Hublot
SSK
 
 
Taisho
wbsc.org